Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Hunter/Jumper: 128th National Horse Show to Host Hunters, Jumpers and Equitation

Written by: Rebecca Walton
Client: National Horse Show
Release Date: 2011-03-22

Mason Phelps

New York, NY- March 22, 2011 - The National Horse Show Association of America, Limited (NHSAA) is pleased to announce that this years event will feature a full array of hunter, jumper, and equitation divisions. The 128th National Horse Show will be held November 2- 6, 2011, at the new Alltech Indoor Arena at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY. In additional to a full set of ‘AA’-rated hunter divisions, there will be Open Jumper divisions with a Grand Prix event, and as always, the signature event of the National Horse Show, the ASPCA Alfred B. Maclay Finals. This prestigious horse show will be managed by Leo Conroy and Hugh Kincannon of Kentucky Horse Shows, LLC.

“The National Horse Show is thrilled to be offering hunters, jumpers, and the Maclay Finals during our first year in Kentucky,” said President Mason Phelps, Jr. “We are excited to showcase the best our sport has to offer in all three events during this year-end Finals event.”

Each of the hunter divisions hosted during the National Horse Show will offer an incredible $7,500 in prize money. This year’s divisions will include Junior Hunters, Amateur-Owner Hunters, and the High Performance Hunters. Each year, the top hunters from around the country are invited to compete during the National Horse Show. Ralph Caristo and Scott Williamson will judge this year’s event.

Leo Conroy
One of the highlight events during the 128th National Horse Show will be the ASPCA Alfred B. Maclay Finals. Junior riders compete throughout the year to qualify for the finals, which will include a warm-up, and will be limited to 200 entries determined by regional qualifying events. Kip Rosenthal and Cynthia Hankins will judge this year’s top junior riders as they compete for the coveted title as the winner of the Maclay.
Hugh Kincannon

The ASPCA Alfred B. Maclay Finals have been held since 1933, and its winners are some of the biggest names in equestrian sport. Previous winners include Olympians: William Steinkraus (1941), Frank Chapot (1948), George Morris (1952), J. Michael Plumb (1957), Conrad Homfeld (1967), Leslie Burr Howard (1972), and Peter Wylde (1982).

New to the National Horse Show in 2011 will be a full complement of jumper divisions. Three classes of Junior/Amateur Jumpers will total $30,000 in prize money, with a Show Jumping Hall of Fame Classic wrapping-up the weekend’s events. There will also be two Open Jumper classes and Grand Prix event featuring the nation’s top jumper horse and rider combinations.

Founded in 1883 at the original Madison Square Garden, the National Horse Show is America’s oldest indoor horse show, firmly established as a major fixture on the national and international sports and social event calendars. The National Horse Show Association’s primary activity is the annual production of the National Horse Show and all ancillary events. Over the years, the National Horse Show has provided financial aide to many worthwhile charities.

For more information on the National Horse Show Association of America, Limited, please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment