Friday, August 19, 2011


Lausanne (SUI), 19 August 2011

Sweden, Spain and Denmark qualified for the London 2012 Olympic Games as a result of their placings in yesterday's FEI European Dressage Championships 2011 team competition. Sweden finished fourth on a score of 214.437%, Spain was fifth (211.580%), and Denmark sixth (209.985%). The three leading nations at the Championships had already achieved Olympic qualification. Gold medallists Great Britain are automatically qualified as next year’s Olympic Games’ host nation. The silver medallists from Germany and the bronze medallists from The Netherlands had previously secured their spots at last year's Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games™ in Kentucky.

This brings the number of teams qualified to date for London 2012 to seven: Great Britain, Germany, The Netherlands, USA (who qualified at the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games™ in Kentucky), Sweden, Spain and Denmark.

The next event for direct team qualification is the Pan American Games to be held in Guadalajara (MEX) from 14 to 29 October. The two best placed teams from Olympic Groups D (North America) and E (Central and South America), excluding the USA, will secure participation in London.

The Pan American Games will be followed by the two FEI-approved qualification events which will take place in Sydney (AUS) on 28 October and Ermelo (NED) on 2 November which are open to teams from the Olympic Groups F (Africa and Middle East) and G (South East Asia and Oceania). Combined standings from both competitions will be produced and the two best ranked teams, excluding the teams listed above, will qualify for London 2012.

Eleven nations qualify directly for the 2012 Olympic Dressage competition through team competitions at FEI Championships, with a team consisting of three athletes and three horses. However, the total number of nations participating in the team competition in London may exceed 11 since additional composite teams made up of three individuals from the same nation may qualify through the FEI Olympic Athletes Rankings.

The complete qualification procedure for the Dressage competitions at the 2012 Olympic Games is available here.


Clarke Johnstone (NZL) - leader since first leg of FEI World Cup™ Eventing 2011 in Kihikihi (NZL) Photo: Kit Houghton/FEI

Lausanne (SUI), 19 August 2011

Antipodean riders Clarke Johnstone (NZL) and Chris Burton (AUS) are making absolutely sure of their FEI World Cup™ Eventing bonus by travelling to the last event in the 2011 series, which is underway at Haras du Pin (FRA) today.

Both riders are now based in Britain, where they are making quite an impact on the national circuit.

They will be hard to beat in the race to secure the FEI World Cup™ Eventing 2011 champion title and for Clarke Johnstone this would be a sweet victory after his brilliant wins at the first and second legs at Kihikihi (NZL) and Sydney (AUS).

A strong field of 47 riders representing 12 nations will contest this popular event, including several leading French names and Olympians such as Mark Todd (NZL) and Clayton Fredericks (AUS), so the Antipodean influence is expected to be strong.

Emily Baldwin, who scored a one-two-three on Drivetime at FEI World Cup™ Eventing's third leg at Chatsworth (GBR), and was last year's Le Pin winner, had signalled that she would be returning to the final leg of the 2011 series in her quest for further points. She will be missed after suffering a broken collarbone at Gatcombe.

Follow the event on

A full report on Haras du Pin and the final standings in the FEI World Cup™ Eventing 2011 will be published after the event.

FEI World Cup™ Eventing Standings (after 6 of 7 events)
1 Clarke Johnstone (NZL) 118
2 Chris Burton (AUS) 108
3 Aliaksandr Faminou (BLR) 96
4 Michael Jung (GER) 79
5 Shane Rose (AUS) 70
6 Yoshiaki Oiwa (JAP) 66
7 Mykhailo Nastenko (RUS) 64
8 Lucy Wiegersma (GBR) 62
9 Peter Thomsen (GER) 56
10 Niklas Lindback (SWE) 41

FEI World Cup™ Eventing Calendar for 2011
1 Kihikihi (NZL), 07-10 April 2011
2 Sydney (AUS), 06-08 May 2011
3  Chatsworth (GBR), 14-15 May 2011
4 Strzegom (POL), 23-26 June 2011
5 Minsk (BLR), 13-17 July 2011
6 Malmö (SWE), 05-07 August 2011
7 Le Pin au Haras (FRA), 18-21 August 2011