Monday, November 8, 2010

Jumping: Canberra: George Sanna wins 2010 AUS Jumping Championships

George Sanna claimed his third Australian Jumping title on the weekend at the 2010 IVECO Australian Jumping Championships in Canberra riding the 9-year-old imported mare CP Aprilla.

The Championships, hosted by ACT Showjumping Club, welcomed over 300 riders and 2,676 entries in 41 classes.

Sanna, who has previously won the Australian title in 1990 and again in 2003, acknowledged the talent of his horse and thanked Charles Blinkworth, his partner in CP Sporthorses for his continued support.

“This is a lovely horse and I couldn’t be more pleased with her. I would like to thank Charles Blinkworth. Charles has been a great supporter of Jumping and also of mine over many years,” said Sanna at the prize-giving.

The Championship title is decided by results from three classes run over the four days of competition.

South Australia’s Anthony Thomas riding his new acquisition kiwi-bred Levitation NZPH (formerly ridden by Billy Raymont) was leading after the first two classes on 0 penalties whilst Sanna was in second place with 1 penalty.

Sanna, from Glossodia, NSW posted two clear rounds on the final day of competition over Peter Cooke’s course putting pressure on Thomas.

It was an exciting finale as Anthony Thomas could not afford a rail.  The victory seemed to be in the bag - until a rail at the second last fence crushed his 2010 Australian Championships dreams and relegated him to runner-up.  Third in the Senior Championship was Brook Dobbin (Vic) and Advisor.

Also finishing Sunday’s competition with two clear rounds were Julia Hargreaves, on the lovely nine-year-old Indoctro gelding Vedor, and Cathy Graham on the extravagant Davinci’s Pride.

This resulted in a three way tie for the class.  Julia finished equal fourth overall in the Championship and Cathy was sixth.

CP Aprilla, a Belgian Warmblood by Heartbreaker, was imported from Europe in 2006, as was CP Ulixes.   CP Ulixes won the Futurity class with his new owner Sharon Slater.

It was a good day for ‘CP’ horses which won three classes on Sunday; the Young Rider Championship (CP Rolex), the futurity (CP Ulixes) and the Senior Championship (CP Aprilla).  The prefix denominates the horses as part of (or formerly part of) ‘CP Sporthorses’.

Tom McDermott from Wagga Wagga, NSW won both the Junior and Young Rider Championships. He was also runner-up in both classes.  This is McDermott’s third Junior Championship title.

Aged 17 McDermott is eligible to ride in both age divisions, Junior is open to riders 13-18 and Young Riders 16-21 years-of-age.

McDermott jumped double clear in Sunday’s Junior Final to finish the Junior Championship on a score of 1 penalty on two horses, Capone and SL Eclipse. Tom was asked to choose which horse he would like to win the class.  He chose 15-year-old Capone, Paula Hamood’s former World Cup horse, now owned by Letita Langbecker.

Finishing third and fourth in the overall Junior Championship was Gemma Creighton of Queensland, riding It’s Mitch and Zanimo.

Sarah-Louise McMillian and Sarah Boulton also jumped double clear in what was a very significant track for the juniors (1.40m) to make it a 4-way tie for first in Sunday’s class.

“I am really pleased with how the juniors handled the course,” commented course designer Peter Cooke.

McDermott’s reign continued when he won the Young Rider title aboard CP Rolex. 21 combinations took part in the Young Rider Final. McDermott placed second on Statford Delight.

In third place in the Young Rider Championship title was Western Australia’s Pascale Young on Pico Bello, formerly ridden by David Dobson.

McDermott jumped double clear on CP Rolex in the Young Rider Final to win the title on a score of zero.  Pascale Young also had two clear rounds on Sunday and tied with McDermott for the class honours.

Sharon Slater enjoyed a victory in the Futurity on her recent purchase CP Ulixes (Lux).  Vicki Roycroft was second on Casino Royale and Jamie Kermond placed third on 8-year-old BWS Lincoln (Indoctro).

Congratulations to all the winners and placegetters.

No comments:

Post a Comment